Jukebox 34

We are about to enter 2016, and that means a lot to me. This January I’m turning 34, and given that I entered Universidad de los Andes on January 1999, quick math tells us that this January marks the moment in my life where half of my life has been somehow devoted to that institution, for example. Also, this 2016 I’ll be (hopefully) travelling to India for nine days for a short study abroad experience, finally making the best out of being in the US and part of one of the most worldwide spread institutions (if you want to know, side by side with Math Education I’m also trying to learn about Higher Education and NYU set a course to visit Turkey –changed to India for security reasons– to learn about their Higher Ed system).

Anyway, the important thing is that I’m turning 34 and just by coincidence –not the happiest one– I’ll be spending 34 days between begin and end of my trip to Colombia for the holidays. So, to celebrate this weird coincidence, I’ll try to take note of all the songs that get stuck in my head from the moment I arrive to JFK to the moment I leave LaGuardia finishing my trip.

Have you ever realized that suddenly, out of the blue, a song is playing in your head and there is no way to change it? It is just happening and even if you consciously try to “inner-play” another song, the first one is stuck and comes back, and suddenly, as suddenly as it began, it finishes? Well, that happens to me all the time (may be I’m just a non-diagnosed schizophrenic) and I want to keep note of those songs as much as possible and to share with you.

I’ll post the songs on Twitter on my account @osbernal and at the end of the trip I will update this post with the full list.

THE LIST

For every song I’ll post the title and the artist, that is going to be also a link for the video, and links have been checked to be available for the USA (one thing I’ve learned is that sometimes the official video channels apply filters for regions). Right below that, the text of the post as it appears on Twitter, and an additional comment if there is anything to be said. And finally, if there are any, videos related to that song that I think may be relevant.

SOME STUFF THAT NEEDS TO BE ADDED

This was a conscious exercise to take record of my unconscious choices, and unconscious they were, some great songs I really love –because they are fantastic or because they mean something to me– didn’t make the cut. So let me just add some of them here, to build peace of heart on the fact they were mentioned.

 
1
Kudos
 
1
Kudos

Now read this

Mentalidad de pobre

Debido a un tweet de un amigo ya hace un tiempo me animé a escribir esto, pero lo había abandonado a medias. Señores, Colombia es un país con mentalidad de pobre, como nación y como individuos (en general). No es un mal exclusivo de... Continue →